Built in 1903 by architect T.E Collcutt, our Grade II listed pub is part of the Savoy Court, an extension of the iconic Savoy Hotel complex. In fact, rumour has it, we’re built on the site of the coal cellar for the famous Savoy Hotel!
In the early days, the pub was the haunt of the city’s coal heavers. But, during Victorian times, it became a popular song and supper club, where regulars sang comical songs and sentimental ballads. Although the supper club no longer runs, we’re located close to many of London’s favourite theatres, so there’s always the chance of an impromptu singsong or musical performance.
And we’ve had our fair share of famous faces gracing our bar. In the Edwardian era, Gilbert and Sullivan frequently performed in the pub, while Shakespearean actor Edmund Keane started the Wolf Club here for oppressed husbands who were forbidden to sing in the bath!