Nicholson’s Pubs are known for their individual style, exciting stories, and charming personalities — and The Walrus and The Carpenter is certainly no exception.
The Walrus and The Carpenter can be found sitting in full view of The Monument, which was designed by Sir Christopher Wren to commemorate the Great Fire of London. The imposing column’s 61-metre height marks its distance to the site of the king’s baker, Thomas Farynor’s shop, in Pudding Lane, where the fire began.
It’s possible to reach the top of The Monument by climbing up the narrow, winding staircase of 311 steps. In fact, upon its completion in 1683, plenty of visitors came to make the climb and enjoy in the view, making it the first tourist attraction in the City of London.
The Walrus and The Carpenter took its name from a poem by Lewis Carroll. The verse is famously recited by the characters Tweedledum and Tweedledee in 'Through The Looking Glass', which is the sequel to Alice's Adventures in Wonderland.